The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor

book clipartBOOK REVIEWbook clipart

 

the dangerous

NetGalley Description

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear? 

One in 100 of us is what the police call a ‘potentially dangerous person’ – someone likely to commit a violent crime. These people hide in plain sight, they can be teachers, doctors, holding positions of trust, of power.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living tracking the 1 in 100. Each week she broadcasts a radio show that examines brutal offences, asking if more could have been done to identify and prevent their perpetrators.

But when she agrees to investigate a missing person case involving a young mother, she is drawn into a web of danger that will ultimately lead to the upper echelons of power, and threaten the safety of her own family.

Set over a long, dark winter in London and perfect for fans of HE SAID/SHE SAID and Belinda Bauer, THE DANGEROUS KIND is at once a gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.

My Thoughts

Our main character is Jessamine Gooch, a BBC Radio 4 journalist and previous newspaper journalist, she broadcasts a weekly popular radio show about past crimes and looks into how and if the perpetrators could have been stopped. She lives in a flat in London with her adopted daughter Sarah.

Jessamine is taking a walk around broadcasting house, to clear her head before she goes on air, when she is approached by a young woman. The woman tells Jessamine of her friend Cassie, who has recently and suddenly disappeared.  The police have had no joy in finding out what happened and thinks that she has either ran off or killed herself. The woman does not believe this for one second though, as Cassie has left behind a young son and she would never have done that. She asks Jessamine for her help as she has nowhere else to turn.

The opening of this book grabs your attention straight away.  The description of the cold snowy night and of the area around the BBC makes a great tense almost spooky atmosphere and the story is excellent at keeping that tension and suspense throughout.

Following something that happens at work Jessamine decides to contact the woman and tells her she will look into the case as far as she can.  We follow the story as we find out more and more about Cassie and watch as Jessamine gets deeper and deeper into what has happened.

There are a number of characters in the story, each with their own sub plot and the chapters are divided out between them. There are also flash backs to other characters some years previously.  This does mean there are a number of threads to the story but they flow well, are well explained and therefore doesn’t make for any confusion.  As the book progresses the stories and characters all wonderfully twists and weave in and out of each other with a great finish and ending to the book.

This book was a fast moving thriller based around the unpleasant subject matter of child abuse and neglect.  It is however dealt with sensitively and is not graphic in its descriptions.  I loved all the characters and it spends long enough on each to allow the reader to get to know them and fill out their character but not too much that it slows down a great paced read.  I really liked Jessamine, an intelligent but down to earth woman who is very believable.  The sense of time, place and vulnerability of the victims are wonderfully written.

I hadn’t read this author before but will now check out her previous novel as I enjoyed The Dangerous Kind very much. A gripping read full of suspense, great characters and twists that keep you guessing till the end.

The Dangerous Kind is published by Bonnier Zaffre and is OUT NOW! Thank you to the publishers for my advanced review copy via NetGalley.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s