WWW Wednesday! May 15th 2019

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

The three W’s are:
What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

********************************************

Sorry this post is a bit late in the day. Been out today to a car boot sale!  It was huge! Thought that maybe for a Wednesday it would be a rather small affair , but no! Loads of stalls and people.  Gorgeous sunny day again and stopped afterwards for an early lunch.  (Also had a little snooze when I got back home!! Gosh I must be getting old!) Anyway here’s this weeks WWW Wednesday.

 

What have I recently finished reading?

The Amber Maze by Christopher Bowden

WIN_20190515_17_11_35_Pro

While staying in a Dorset cottage, Hugh Mullion finds a mysterious key down the side of an antique chair. No one can say how long the key has been there or what it opens. Hugh’s search for answers will unlock the secrets of the troubled life of a talented artist, destined to be hailed a neglected genius fifty years too late. And no secret is darker than that of The Amber Maze, from whose malign influence he never escaped. The trail takes Hugh from Edwardian Oxfordshire to 1960s Camden Town, where the ghosts of the past are finally laid to rest. Delicately crafted noir fiction at its best.

I am taking part in the Blog Tour for this book at the end of the month arranged by Anne Cater @annecater, so have just finished this in preparation for it.  It was a lovely, quick read and really sucks you in straight away.  It is currently ‘as cheap as chips’ over on Amazon at the moment.

What I’m reading now.

The dangerous kind

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear? 

Zaffre’s biggest breakout thriller of 2019.

One in 100 of us is what the police call a ‘potentially dangerous person’ – someone likely to commit a violent crime. These people hide in plain sight, they can be teachers, doctors, holding positions of trust, of power.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living tracking the 1 in 100. Each week she broadcasts a radio show that examines brutal offences, asking if more could have been done to identify and prevent their perpetrators.

But when she agrees to investigate a missing person case involving a young mother, she is drawn into a web of danger that will ultimately lead to the upper echelons of power, and threaten the safety of her own family.

Set over a long, dark winter in London and perfect for fans of HE SAID/SHE SAID and Belinda Bauer, THE DANGEROUS KIND is at once a gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.

Quiet literally just started this! One of my NetGalley requests and out tomorrow May 16th.

What am I reading next.

the woman whothe book of wonder

I’m hoping to start these two next.  (Hey they are both yellow!)  First one received via NetGalley.  Second one, kindly received an ARC from the publishers, but is available on NetGalley.  Both published May 30th.

 

Have a good rest of the week!

Sarah

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday! May 15th 2019

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s