A Little Bird Told Me

By Marianne Holmes

Book Review

Book description:

In the scorching summer of 1976, Robyn spends her days swimming at the Lido and tagging after her brother. It’s the perfect holiday – except for the crying women her mum keeps bringing home.

As the heatwave boils on, tensions in the town begin to simmer. Everyone is gossiping about her mum, a strange man is following her around, and worst of all, no one will tell Robyn the truth. But this town isn’t good at keeping secrets…

Twelve years later Robyn returns home, to a house that has stood empty for years and a town that hasn’t moved on, forced to confront the mystery that haunted her that summer.

And atone for the part she played in it.

This one was a very slow starter for me. By 25% of the way inI still hadn’t found much of an interest with either of the 2 main characters. Ive read a lot of time flipping novels but this one didnt feel to me as if Tey were very connected. I obviously knew they would be but with only snippets of the past story there wasn’t enough to grab me to want to find out more. I dont think the pieces of the story from the past were long enough to get hooked into it, so I felt like I was asking a lot of questions, like why had the 2 siblings returned home in the first place?

The ending was good as a story but felt it wasn’t really explained. Just one that wasn’t for me, but remember just my own opinion. Give it a try you may disagree.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

Leave a comment