Nine Lessons by Nicola Upson Book Review


nine lessons

Nine Lessons by Nicola Upson
This is the 7th book in the Josephine Tey mystery/crime series.
Set in Cambridge in the 1930’s it follows two crimes. One a serial rapist targeting women living alone, and the second a murder, which soon turns out to be bigger than at first seems, and brings Archie Penrose from Scotland Yard up to Cambridge to investigate.
The books can be stand alone books if you haven’t read any before, but if you want to follow the lives and loves of the 2 main characters, then it is best to read them as a series. They always have a nice twist at the end and I particularly enjoy the stories as they are often based in ‘my neck of the woods’ and in 1930’s a fave era of mine.
Descriptive narrative is always good and Archie and Josephine feel like old friends by now. Nicola Upson always adds an element of true life stories and characters to her novels which make them interesting and have often had me on goggle looking up a topic to find out more.
Would recommend the whole series.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s